McClintock wins 2nd Kwik Trip Seniors County Amateur

Tom McClintock saved his best for last Sunday in the 29th annual Kwik Trip La Crosse County Seniors Amateur Golf Championship at Forest Hills Golf Course in La Crosse.
Facing a 40-foot chip shot to the 18th green, McClintock (pictured) knocked his ball to less than 6 inches from the cup for an easy par and his second career victory with an even-par 71. McClintock's first victory came in 2017.
"I can't even remember when. It's been so long," McClintock quipped, while sipping on a Captain Morgan and Coke shortly after his round.
McClintock certainly had to work for his second title, holding off playing partners and close friends Paul Williamson and two-time defending champion Mike Bistodeau, who finished one stroke behind. Williamson and Bistodeau, incidentally, are tied for career Seniors titles with four each.
McClintock made the turn in 2-under par 33 before finishing with a 2-over 38 on the back side. Williamson and Bistodeau matched 36 on both sides.
"Yeah, that chip sure saved me on 18," McClintock said, chuckling.
McClintock hit his drive beneath a huge tree in the right rough on 18, then watched his pitch-and-run shot skip across the cart path and race off the back edge of the green.
"Thank God I hit it within 3-4 inches for a tap-in," he said with a deep sigh of relief. "Actually, my 71 could have been 61 because I was hitting the ball so well, but I have a lot to do to be competitive next week with those young guys."
McClintock will tee it up next weekend in the 30th annual 36-hole La Crosse County Men's County Amateur Golf Championship, slated for Saturday, Aug. 1 and Sunday Aug. 2, at The Golf Club at Cedar Creek in Onalaska and Drugan's Castle Mound Country Club in Holmen. McClintock is a perennial top 10 finisher each year but has yet to find that elusive first title.
Williamson, the all-time Men's County Am champ with seven titles, put pressure on McClintock on the 15th hole Sunday when he birdied while McClintock plopped his approach shot into the pond and took bogey. It was a two-shot swing, but Williamson couldn't quite rally enough on the final three holes.
"I played pretty steady but couldn't make enough putts. My speed was off," said the savvy lefty Williamson. "The golf course was really in good shape. Jake (Dunn, course superintendent) is really doing a great job.
"I hit the ball good, but I have to make putts," Williamson lamented.
McClintock and Williamson will be in the same pairing again on Saturday.
Paul Bruha captured First Flight with 80, Daniel M. Breeden won Second Flight with 84 and James Freng won the Super Seniors Low Net Flight with 81-71.


Sunday, July 26, 2020
Forest Hills Golf Course (Par 71)
La Crosse, WI

Tom McClintock 33-38-71 ($300)
Paul Williamson 36-36-72 ($175)
Mike Bistodeau 36-36-72 ($175)
Terry Thienes 39-35-74 ($100)
Joe Hightower 37-37-74 ($100)
Donald E. Colburn 37-37-74 ($100)
Pete Kohnert 40-35-75 ($50)
Michael Drugan 40-36-76
Tom Wilson 40-36-76
Jim Socha 39-38-77
Jeff Pigorsch 38-39-77
Larry Peterson 40-37-77
Bruce Lindseth 39-39-78
Bill Feehan 38-41-79
Dan Mullenbach 37-42-79
Rick Stewart 40-41-81
Bruce Simones 38-43-81
Steve Franke 43-41-84
Patrick Hogan 41-44-85
Kelly Demarino 42-48-90
Mike Hase 50-51-101
Dave Hegenbarth - WD - injury

Paul Bruha 40-40-80 ($250)
Rahn Pischke 42-39-81 ($175)
Scott Hackworth 40-42-82 ($125)
Al Lindsay 42-43-85
Leon McNutt 46-40-86
Robert Burns 42-45-87
Herb Becker 42-46-88
Greg Espenes 43-48-91
Steve Sjolander 46-45-91
Bob Guggenbuehl 45-47-92

Daniel M. Breeden 45-39-84 ($250)
Bob Roers 46-39-85 ($175)
Bob Cagle 47-43-90 ($100)
Marv Davis 46-46-92 ($25)
Jim Dolesy 46-46-92 ($25)
Randy Breidel 49-44-93
Dan Leis 48-46-94
Ebe Bosse 46-50-96
Brandon Uffelman 47-51-98
Steve Crogan 49-50-99
Steven Fellenz 51-48-99
Dale A. Mueller 46-55-101
Danny MacCharles 50-53-103
Ed Przytarski 54-52-106
Craig Reid 54-56-110

James Freng 40-41-81--73 ($200)
Monte Jacobson 44-41-85--74 ($100)
Robert Schoen 43-41-84--74 ($100)
Bill Burke 48-47-95--76
Marty J. Gora 46-46-92--77
Ronald Puestow 49-47-96--81
Michael DeYoe 48-45-93--83
Ronald Bertelson 51-45-96--86
Kent Drugan 50-51-101--90