Onalaska's Skogen grabs first round lead in County Am

ONALASKA, WI - Ben Skogen is a very likable young man.
He's also a darn good golfer and leads the Championship flight in the 2018 La Crosse County Amateur Golf Championships as presented by Pepsi-Cola of La Crosse.
Skogen (pictured) is a former WIAA state champion member at Onalaska High School and member of the University of Wisconsin golf team for four years.
He shot a 2-under par 69 at The Golf Club at Cedar Creek in Onalaska on Saturday, and is in position to win his first County Am title, which he terms would be special.
"Yeah, that would be very special to put my name up there with all those other guys, but I'm still not going to put extra pressure on myself to do it," he said.
Sunday's final round is scheduled at Drugan's Castle Mound Country Club in Holmen, a course Skogen said he feels more comfortable at than Cedar.
"I really don't play Cedar that well, but I'm really happy with today's round. We'll see tomorrow," he said.
Skogen is the last player off the tee and will be joined with Saturday's first-round partner Josh Dirks and also James DeBoer, whom he has played against dating back to their junior golf and high school years.
"This is going to be special," said DeBoer after posting 72. "We played against each other quite a bit through the years and Ben is a great golfer. It's going to be fun."
Dirks, who also carded 72, feels it will take 65-66, maybe lower to defeat Skogen.
"Ben was so much fun to watch today, said Dirks, who joined Skogen and two-time champion Joe Weber in Saturday's last group. "He actually had 65-66 under his belt, but had a couple of hiccups."
Weber, an Onalaska dentist who posted 74, said he was disappointed with his round and couldn't make any putts. However, keep in mind Weber's famous words after the first round last year when he said he didn't usually play very well at Castle Mound and then went out and shot a spectacular 6-under 64 to win the title going away.
In other opening-round action, Jim Socha leads First Flight with 77, Paul Franke tops Second Flight with 78, Robert Schoen paces Third Flight players with 84, and Bob Roers has an 11-shot cushion in Fourth Flight with 83.