McClintock wins Kwik Trip Seniors County Amateur

ONALASKA, WI - Tom McClintock felt great despite nursing a sore back if that makes any sense.
McClintock was in party mood after notching his very first La Crosse County Amateur Golf Championship title on Saturday. His initial victory was in the annual Kwik Trip Seniors County Amateur at The Golf Club at Cedar Creek in Onalaska.
McClintock, nicknamed "Mac," tries to make it two in a row next weekend, but more about that later. He was savoring his first-ever County Am title while sipping on a cool drink shortly after his sparkling 2-under par 69.
Finally," he said with a wide grin.
McClintock a perennial contender for the Men's County Am crown, lost to four-time Seniors champion Paul Williamson in a sudden death playoff last year. Williamson, nicknamed "Willie," was nipping at McClintock's heels once again on Saturday, but McClintock withstood the challenge to pocket a $275 gift card along with a large plaque and Seniors County Am traveling trophy.
I took 15 years off from golf to race seriously and I don't regret it. I just need to get stronger mentally," he said.
McClintock, a regular in both the Seniors and Men's County Amateurs for the last few years, took a big step mentally on the 10th hole on Saturday. He was 4-under par after the front nine. Williamson, one of his playing partners, was even par. It changed in the blink of an eye. McClintock hooked his tee shot out of bounds and finished with a bogey 5. Williamson jarred a 70-yard wedge from the fairway for an eagle 2. Suddenly, a four-shot lead was now one stroke with eight to play.
"I thought, here we go. Just like last year. "I'm going to get Willied again," McClintock said. "Actually, that was the key to my victory. I just stopped and regrouped mentally."
Actually, it wasn't quite that easy. Williamson birdied the par-3, 11th and watched McClintock bogey. It was game on the rest of the way. McClintock regained the lead on the 12th hole when Williamson bogeyed. However, in typical Williamson fashion, he knocked his tee shot less than two feet from the cup on the par-3, 14th hole for a tap-in birdie. The match was deadlocked through the 16th before Williamson double bogeyed the 17th. The two-stroke lead was all McClintock needed entering the 18th.
"Is anyone else close?" McClintock asked a tournament official who was following the group.
The tournament official checked with scoring officials in the clubhouse and told McClintock no one was better than 5-over par.
McClintock breathed a big sigh of relief, knocked his approach shot to the middle of the green and two-putted for victory.
The first to remove his cap and shake his hand was Williamson, a longtime friend.
"I'm happy for Mac," said Williamson, the all-time record holder in the long, storied County Amateur dating back to 1932.
Williamson owns seven Men's County Am titles and four Seniors crowns. However, you can bet Williamson, who also has a bad back, is already gearing up for the grueling, 36-hole Men's County Am next weekend. So is McClintock.
"I'm taking two days off from golf. It's rehab now," said McClintock. "I'll play Tuesday, Thursday and Friday or maybe just Tuesday and Thursday. It all depends on my back. It's all about getting better and how I feel about myself."
When asked if he could become the first player to win the Seniors and Men's titles in the same year, McClintock laughed and responded with his five favorites to win.
Ben Skogen, Tyler Church, Joe Weber, Josh Dirks... and of course Willie," he said. "I just want to be in the background where no one knows how I'm doing."

Paul Bruha defeated Randy Blank in a two-hole, sudden death playoff for the First Flight title. Bruha, who won his second straight First Flight title, and Blank finished regulation play with 78 each. Marty Gora captured Second Flight honors with 87, while Lloyd Payne won the new Super Seniors Flight for players 70 and above with a low net 62.


Saturday July 29, 2017
The Golf Club at Cedar Creek (Par 71)                                     

Tom McClintock 32-37 69                
Paul Williamson 36-36 72                
Pete Kohnert 39-36 75                
Joe Loomis 39-37 76                
Joe Hightower 37-39 76                
Mike Bistodeau 40-36 76                
Jim Socha 41-36 77                
Michael Drugan 40-37 77                
Bruce Lindseth 41-37 78                
Steve Franke 40-39 79                
Chris Weiss 40-39 79                
Kelly DeMarino 39-40 79                
Jim Jenkins 41-39 80                
Larry Peterson 39-41 80                
Bruce Simones 43-37 80                
Bill Feehan 47-33 80                
Jim DeBoer 40-42 82                
Terry Thienes  38-45 83                
Tom Wilson 42-41 83                
Rahn Pischke 42-42 84                
Rick Stewart 47-38 85                                   

* Paul Bruha 39-39 78                 
Randy Blank 38-40 78                
Robert Schoen 42-43 85                
Randy Breidel 50-40 90                
Robert Burns 46-44 90                
Dan Leis 41-50 91                
Tony Friedl 47-44 91                
James Freng 48-44 92                
Herb Becker 47-48 95                
Bob Sciborski 49-48 97                
Thomas Grapes 51-46 97                
Chuck Moore DQ
Joseph Nguyen WD                                    

SECOND FLIGHT                   
Marty Gora 47-40 87                
Bob Roers 48-40 88                
Leon McNutt 43-46 89                
Scott Hackworth 47-42 89                
Rich Schultz 44-46 90                
Edward Przytarski 46-44 90                
Felix Fernandes 44-47 91                
Steve Crogan 45-50 95                
Thomas Johnson 46-51 97                
Marv Davis 51-48 99                
Greg Espenes 50-49 99                
Monte Jacobson 47-57 104                
Ronald Puestow 50-58 108                                   

SUPER SENIORS (age 70 and above low net)              
Lloyd Payne 42-42 84 62               
Jack Glennie 44-43 87 68               
Bob Luce 52-49 101 74               
Ted Knudson 49-49 98 76               
Tony Raymond 44-49 93 77               
Robert McLoone 50-49 99 79               
Bill Burke 50-52 102 80               
Paul Taylor 51-50 101 82               
David M. Seymour 54-52 106 89   

* - won on second hole of sudden death